roma

August 28, 2010 § 1 Comment

hi from free wifi! we saw the pantheon, st. peters basilica, the sistine chapel and wandered over to the trevi fountain after dinner. successful I’d say, and I think our feet agree. it is hot during the day but so pleasant at night.

dinner was fun as there wasn’t a menu so we were forced to be adventurous. as an added bonus, the sweet old lady of the place hugged me, kissed me and rattled off (what seemed to be sweet words) to me in Italian.

thanks to the great Rick Steves, for lunch we enjoyed fantastic, huge and inexpensive sandwiches on great crusty bread with thick slices of fresh mozzarella and huge thick tomatoes. I’d have to say, aside from the bread, wine and cheese which I expected to be good in Rome, the tomatoes have been aaaamazing.

In another shout out to Rick, we enjoyed his free podcast tours of our sites today. We were SO glad we downloaded them on a random whim before we left; they were personal, well paced and impressively informative! even complete with maps and pictures.

mom, remind me to tell you about the school of Athens and the pantheon’s architecture. Or go look it up, I bet you can figure out why I thought about you! :)

ok, until next time, enjoy my little iPhone pics…

love y’all!
e&t

§ One Response to roma

  • Patti says:

    Hi There! I was so excited to see your new entry pop up on my google reader!!

    The Pantheon architecture – so is it that it is beautiful in every sense of the word – bringing art and science together in design?

    Keep posting, making good memories and taking great pictures!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading roma at { tied up with string }.

meta

