humpday update

May 11, 2011 § Leave a comment

Here are some of my unrelated recent musings.

1.) Reading. I read The Tiger’s Wife and thought it was fantastic. Following NPR Books, The New Yorker Fiction, The Paris Review and Penguin Books on Twitter has done wonders for my reading endeavors. I acquired a library card when we moved in to le City of Westlake and the pressure to finish the book before it’s due is lovely. Especially when they put limits on the amount of times you can renewal new fiction. #nerdproblems. I put a bunch of new fiction books on reserve then read whichever one pops up as ready first. It’s been fun. Nerdy fun, I know. I still typically buy the books I want to own cheaply from Half.com, but four years into teaching I’ve just discovered the 20% off Educator’s Discount at Barnes & Noble and also realized Costco sells tons of discounted great books.

Right now I’m 50 pages from finishing The Yiddish Policeman’s Union, by Michael Chabon who also wrote The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, about which I blogged here. Lord of Misrule is up next. 2. I like this house from Cote Texas. In fact, I love all the houses on Cote Texas. And rugs, tables, side tables, ottomans, trinket, curtain rod….

3. New specs! Previously mentioned on my spring wishlist. From Warby Parker.

4. Date night Fridays. I love them. We do not ride our bikes or wear straw fedoras and sadly I don’t know where this picture came from, but we look forward to our Fridays all week.

5. Japanese erasers are cool. These are the things we tutors {and elementary school teachers} learn. They actually are really good erasers and certainly fall into the fun school supplies category along with flare pens, neon notebook paper and colorful binder clips. It’s the little things in life that make doing what you have to do more fun. And for which I’m a sucker. One girl I tutor has a bucket full. Ice cream cones, hamburgers, penguins, a whale that I’m really envious of but that I don’t think she wants to trade me for…


6. I want to do this!


Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading humpday update at { tied up with string }.

meta

