reading room

July 26, 2011 § Leave a comment

Sorry, bloggie friends, I’ve neglected you. Last week, my friend Caroline came to play. We ate pancakes, went to the lake and played with cocktails. She was my roommate sophomore year in college, the year I met the man I married and when I rudely came home late from our smitten little forays, she’d always left a lamp on for me. The same year, she crashed her car and broke her leg skiing. I brought the gimp her morning coffee and took the top bunk. Oh yes, we had bunk beds as well as a constant stash of hot tamales. She’s been a precious friend ever since the year of green carpets, community bath and endless granola and as a fellow teacher, gets to enjoy the summer vacay as well!

I’ve had the blessing blessing blessing to be tutoring a ton in July. It must be what I’m made to do because I love every aspect of it and I feel like most people think that’s crazy. Planning with the parents, chatting with the kids, reading their books and working their math problems.

Books books books. I’ve also been reading on my own. (As well as playing on Pinterest finding cute pictures…beware, it will suck you in)

Maybe I can get  a print of that painting, by the way?

In the Garden of Beasts is historical fiction at its finest. It took me a while to get through, though, because it’s not really a light read. There are a lot of German names to keep track of. But it was a very interesting story about the personality and premonitions of the American ambassador to Germany in the 1930s, the years preceding WW2. The information about the interworkings of and interactions between the major characters in various positions within the German government and military were facinating as was the insight into the conflicts among officials in America. The Epilogue about the man’s legacy being largely determined by which side of the ocean you were on was arguably the best part of the book. The Coda and Larson’s footnotes were absolutely hilarious. I want to be friends with him now and would totally stand in line at a book signing. The research he evidently did for this book is mind blowing. Again, it’s not a beach read but it was a fascinating and rewarding read.

I’m only about 80 pages into Cutting for Stone and was immediately hooked by Verghese’s writing. It takes place in Egypt, India and America, forcing me already, like The Tiger’s Wife did, to not only learn some history but fill in some gaps in my shameful geography knowledge. I’m reading this book because it was one of the few new fiction works on my overly ambitious wishlist @ IndieBound that was available to reserve through my library’s E Book site. The synopsis there is great, and evidently was enough to make me want to read it, but I think many reviews and synopses give too much away. So research it at your own risk. I will let you know my final thoughts once I’m done!

I’m going to go read now. Since I don’t have access to an elephant, maybe I’ll see about sitting on my dog.

witanddelightcrushculdesacawelltraveledwoman }

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading reading room at { tied up with string }.

meta

