kitchen wishin

September 3, 2011 § 1 Comment

Who isn’t always thinking about things they want to change about their house? Granted, I love my house and I love my fifty year old kitchen. I really do. But as I envision the “if” future of living in our house long term, hosting people, feeding kids, I naturally think about our plans to redo it. Knock down a wall, make a huge bar open to both living rooms and both dining rooms on either end.

So I must share these two pictures because I’d saved the bottom one to a decor file on my computer ages ago…that file is filled with pictures I’ve been saving and posting here for a few years. The top one is one I just saved to my Pinterest kitchen board a last week with a #thisisit caption.
They’re different views of the same kitchen. And the spoke to me at different times.

SO meant to be.

And yes, they spoke to me.

A galley kitchen with a huge, long bar. Sink and a range in the bar {facing into the house, yes} fridge, pantry, ovens behind. This could be similar to our view from the front door, looking left. Dining room on the left, breakfast table on the right. Food, kids, friends lined up on the big bar. LoOove.

Wait, there’s more. As I tried to find the ultimate source of it, I discovered it’s Ina Garten’s kitchen with House Beautiful. Ina!? My hero!? Shut.the.front.door.

More thoughts.. .Also enamored with the idea of using furniture pieces with character.

Also enamored with the idea of using furniture pieces with character. I want to figure out how to build in some cool piece like these to part of the cabinets or even as a buffet in the dinning or breakfast room.

Check back in a decade. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to kitchen wishin

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading kitchen wishin at { tied up with string }.

meta

